Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with Hunting and Open Space shooting locations?
Hi,

I am new to CO, coming from the south. As you can imagine certain areas of this state are a complete culture shock for me. I have been into guns for maybe 10 years now.

After the ridiculous HB passed, and all of the 'incidents' I became worried about where I was going to shoot. I belong to one shooting club that has outrageous fees, and busy body rangemasters that, while in a very small room pacing back and forth back and forth, sometimes regularly interrupting shooters for whatever arbitrary reason.

I regret the membership. I guess it can be an easy access place to shoot but it in every sense takes the word 'fun' out of it for the most part.

This brings me to my next question which is probably sensitive, I am looking for an open space to shoot where people can bring pretty much whatever they want thats legal, and a perk would be a nice hill for a backstop.

I want to teach my girlfriend to shoot without having every lane next to me full, a range master pacing so much I constantly bump into him when I back up, and also people who know that if you stick your arms out far enough, your casings are jumping the lane and hitting me in the face after bouncing off my wall.

I want the freedom and enjoyment I had when I was in the south of driving into the middle of nowhere(accessible by car, though) and just going to town, while also cleaning up after yourself... though I'm sure people would love certain brass types left behind.

I also want to start hunting here and have no idea where to start. All of this feels incredibly futile at this point and I feel like I'm shoehorned into this metro range FLOODED with new shooters(which is fine) but the constant amount of people and busybody rangemasters just ruins it for me and my girlfriend who is a new shooter.